1440 X 300
Football League is a professional competition for football clubs

Football League is a professional competition for football clubs


Post on:


What is Football League?

The Football League is a professional competition for football clubs located at the bottom of the English football league system. The Football League was founded in 1888 by Aston Villa director William McGregor with 12 member clubs. It was suspended during the First World War and resumed in 1919. In 1992, the Football League was restructured and rebranded as the English Football League.

The current champions are Leicester City, who won the title in 2015–16. They are the first club outside the so-called "Big Six" of Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham Hotspur to win the Premier League since 1992.

The Football League is open to any club down to League Two that meets the minimum criteria. Clubs in the top two tiers of English football, the Premier League and the Championship, are not members of the Football League.

# English Premier League

The English Premier League (EPL) is the top flight of English football and consists of 20 clubs. It was founded on February 20, 1992, following the decision of clubs in the Football League First Division to break away from the Football League, which was originally founded in 1888. The Premier League has since become the world's most-watched sporting league.

The current champions are Chelsea, who won the title in 2016–17. The most successful club in the Premier League is Manchester United, with 13 titles. Other clubs to have won the title include Blackburn Rovers, Arsenal, Manchester City, Chelsea and Leicester City.

The Premier League is a corporation where the 20 member clubs act as shareholders. Each club is a member of the Football Association (FA). The competition rules are governed by the FA and the EPL's own rules.

The Premier League is the most-watched football league globally, broadcast in 212 territories to 643 million homes and a potential TV audience of 4.7 billion people. In the 2014–15 season, the average Premier League match attendance exceeded 36,000, second only to the German Bundesliga's 43,500.

The Premier League is the most profitable football league in the world. In the 2015–16 season, the 20 clubs generated a record £3.6 billion in revenue. This increased £800 million from the previous season's £2.8 billion. The 2016–17 season is expected to see even higher revenues, with each club set to receive a minimum of £100 million from the new domestic TV deal.

The Premier League is particularly popular in Asia, the most-watched football league. In China, the Premier League is broadcast on CCTV, while it is broadcast on Star Sports in India.

The Premier League has been home to some of the world's best players, including Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Neymar, Sergio Aguero and Luis Suarez.

The Premier League is also home to some of the world's richest clubs, such as Manchester United, Chelsea, Arsenal and Manchester City.

# Spanish La Liga

The Campeonato Nacional de Liga de Primera División, commonly known as La Liga, is the men's top professional football division of the Spanish football league system. Administered by the Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional (LFP), La Liga is contested by 20 teams, with the three lowest-ranked teams relegated to the Segunda División and replaced by the top three teams in that division.

La Liga is one of the most popular professional sports leagues globally, with an average attendance of 26,983 for league matches in the 2017–18 season. This is the sixth-highest of any domestic professional sports league globally and the third-highest of any professional association football league in the world, behind the Bundesliga and the Premier League. The competition format follows the usual double round-robin format. During a season, which runs from August to May, each club plays every other club twice, once at their home stadium and once at that of their opponents, for 38 matchdays. Teams receive three points for a win, one point for a draw, and no points for a loss.

Teams are ranked by total points, with the highest-ranked club crowned champion at the end of the season. If points are equal, the head-to-head records and goal difference determine the winner. If still equal, teams are deemed to occupy the same position. If there is a tie for the championship, relegation, or qualification to other competitions, a play-off match at a neutral venue decides rank. The league was founded on October 28 1928, with the merger of Spain's two top regional leagues.

Barcelona is the current champions, having won their twenty-sixth title in the 2018–19 season. Real Madrid is the most successful club in the competition's history, having won the title a record 33 times and being the most successful club in Spanish football overall. Barcelona follows them with 25 titles and Atlético Madrid with 10 titles. Of the 56 teams to have competed in La Liga, nine have been crowned champions. Most titles have been won by either Real Madrid (33), Barcelona (26) or Atlético Madrid (10).

The all-time La Liga table is a cumulative record of all match results, points, and goals of every team played in La Liga since its inception in 1929. The table is accurate as of the 2018–19 season.